Tiana’s Mission at the UN

The plane is slowly starting its descent into Geneva and sharp blue and green come into vision. Many tourists call this Lake Geneva, but to us locals it’s Lac Leman. I start to cry because this journey has been in the works since 2019. As Sister Sarah would say “Sister Sydney has emailed me once a month since March 2020 asking when the internship is opening.” 

I have been fortunate enough to intern at the joint VIDES/IIMA Human Rights Office (http://iimageneva.org/) in Veyrier, Switzerland. The office is literally a 5 minute walk to France so it’s really motivating to go on runs and say “I just ran from Switzerland to France!” I have eaten more croissants and chocolate than my doctor would say is acceptable. 

Community life is wonderful. Sister Giuseppina and Sister Lucia have taught me so much about joy. They are both in their 80’s, but Sister Lucia could beat any ten year old on the court in a game of basketball! I am convinced Sister Giuseppina is Saint Peter reincarnated. They both embody the Salesian Spirit and their zest for life and youth work is inspiring. 

On a professional note, I have made so many contacts in various United Nations Agencies and improved my French and at this point I am almost fluent in Italian (not really but the Sisters and I manage to understand each other). I also appreciate the opportunity to enhance my writing skills. Sister Sarah has asked me to assist in data collection from the 98 countries we are present in which has helped me build my data analysis skills. I still have another month left here and am excited for what is in store!

Leave a comment

Filed under Mission, Switzerland, United Nations

Leave a comment