Tom’s Mission in the Philippines

Hello, my name is Tom and I have been volunteering with VIDES in the Philippines for the last 4.5 months. It has been such an eye opening experience both spiritually and culturally. During this time I’ve had ample opportunity for daily Mass and the rosary as well as dialogue with the Salesian Sisters to help in my spiritual growth. I have also been able to see much of the Philippines, from the mountains of Tagaytay, to the Beaches of Palawan, to the crowded streets of Manila.

The quality of life here for the average person is not nearly as good as what we have come to expect in the US (I do miss running water, good wifi, and most of all, a laundry machine). However, that does not stop the people here from being so joyful and loving, especially the children. So far I have gotten to work with kids from 8 to 17 years of age and they find so much joy in simple things that we in the digital age can often miss. I’m so thankful for this experience so far, and look forward to continuing it for the next 7.5 months!

Leave a comment

Filed under Mission, Philippines

Leave a comment